## Basis of Election for the 2022 Local Elections

On 29 October 2021 the Kaipara District Council gave public notice of its final proposal for representation arrangements to apply for the Council for the elections to be held on 8 October 2022. Notification of the right to appeal was also given. As no valid appeals were received in respect of the resolution, the representation arrangements for the Kaipara District Council's 2022 local elections will be the same as in the final proposal:

## **Council Representation**

The final proposal for Kaipara District Council is that:

- Kaipara District Council to comprise the mayor elected at-large and nine councillors elected under the ward system, specifically eight general ward councillors and one Māori ward councillor;
- (ii) Kaipara District Council be divided into four wards, these being:
- Kaiwaka-Mangawhai General Ward (three general councillors) being the area comprising the southeast section of Kaipara, including Kaiwaka, Mangawhai township and Mangawhai Heads and surrounding area, Oruawharo and the Oneriri Peninsula and Hakaru (being the current ward area) as delineated on Plan LG-003-2019-W-4 deposited with the Local Government Commission:
- Otamatea General Ward (two general councillors) being the area comprising
  the State Highway 12 townships from Tokatoka back to the Brynderwyns
  including Ruawai, Matakohe, Paparoa, Maungaturoto, Taipuha, Ararua, Pahi,
  Whakapirau and Tinopai (being the current ward area) as delineated on Plan
  LG-003-2019-W3 deposited with the Local Government Commission;
- Wairoa General Ward (three general councillors) being the area comprising
  the Dargaville township, plus the area surrounding Dargaville, through to
  Waipoua Forest, including Kaihu, Aranga, Donnelly's Crossing, Mamaranui,
  Omamari, Bayly's Beach, Hoanga, Tangowahine, Tangiteroria, Te Kopuru,
  Pouto, Turiwiri and Aropohue (being the current Dargaville and West CoastCentral ward areas) as delineated on SO Plan 70435 and Plan LG-0032019-W2 deposited with the Local Government Commission;
- Te Moananui o Kaipara Māori Ward (one Māori councillor) comprising the entire district as delineated on Plan LG-003-2019-W-1 deposited with the Local Government Commission;
- (iii) no community boards be established.

## Further information

More information about the representation review can be obtained through the website www.kaipara.govt.nz or from the Dargaville office at 42 Hokianga Road, or the Mangawhai office at Unit 6. The Hub. 6 Molesworth Drive.

Louise Miller, Chief Executive Kaipara District Council Phone: 09 439 7059 or 0800 727 059 23 February 2022

